TASAC MAIN PAGE  • About Old Waverly  • About Mossy Oak Course – coming soon  • Take a Swing at Cancer Brochure • Vendor Village •  Tennis Tournament  • By the Numbers • NMMC Cancer Care Service Area

May 2-3, 2021
For More information,
call 662-377-3613

Dear Supporter,
The coronavirus pandemic has changed everything – the way we work, play, worship, spend time with family and friends and more. However, while all of us have been focused on COVID-19, other things have not changed.

People are still being diagnosed with cancer. The numbers of patients being treated at North Mississippi Medical Center Cancer Care has not gone down. Our social workers are still seeing patients every day who need our help.

Additionally, because of layoffs, illness, furloughs and other economic impacts, the financial need is even greater than before.

As a committee, we know we cannot safely hold the 2020 Take a Swing at Cancer weekend events. While we are disappointed, we know the right thing to do is to postpone our 25th anniversary event to 2021 to prevent the spread of COVID-19.

However, please consider continuing to support the NMMC Cancer Care Fund. By making a donation, you ensure that we are able to provide support to patients who need it. You ensure that when someone comes to one of our social workers and expresses a need, we are able to say, “Don’t worry, we can help.”

Penny Harper of Pontotoc faced a battle with cancer this year that she wanted to tell us about. Your support made it possible to help her through one of the most difficult times of her life.

Sam Pace, M.D.,

Mickey Holliman, Mark Burleson, Dan Jones, Glen McCullough, Jr., & Mississippi State University President Mark Keenum.

Twenty-five years ago, four women golfers – two of whom were cancer survivors – had a vision to start a charitable fund to help burdened cancer patients at the NMMC Cancer Center get through a devastating time in their lives. Their efforts led them to organize the first Take a Swing at Cancer Golf Tournament in 1995. From that early beginning the Take a Swing at Cancer Golf Tournament has continued to grow and has now become an important source of charitable support for the NMMC Cancer Care Patient Fund.

The NMMC Cancer Care Patient Fund provides approximately $350,000 annually to help qualifying cancer patients get much needed pain and anti-nausea medications, nutritional supplements, transportation for treatment and other supplies. This fund is often the only resource available to help patients and their families through this difficult period of their lives.

NMHS President and CEO Shane Spees with Dr. Jimmy Keeton, Dr. Charles O’Mara & Dr. Mart McMullen at Old Waverly.

The Take a Swing at Cancer Tournament is guided by an enthusiastic group of community and regional volunteers who have a great passion for the needs of others and are willing to help organize and promote this important event.

For More information, call 662-377-3613 or email foundation@nmhs.net

Check us out on Facebook at

Take a Swing at Cancer Committee Members
Samuel Pace, M.D., Chairman

T.J. Adams
Amanda Angle
Jesse Bandre
Ben Beavers
Laura Hodges
Hank Hutto
Fletcher Johnson
Barry Keel
Key Blair Charlie Kinney
Davis Bond Ladd Mark
Denise Kennedy Brown Ashley McLellan
George & Marcia Bryan Derrick Menefee, M.D.
Greg Burks
Elizabeth Carnell
Charles Montgomery, M.D.
Tim O’Brien
Mike Clayborne David Pace
Anne Comer Mark Prince
Chanda Cossitt Connie Renfroe
Nikki Ivancic-Currey, M.D. John Paul Rhea
Wally Davis
Shane Denevan
Brian Rigby
Bruff Sanders
Tasha Dozier
Jim Goodwin
Barney Guyton, MD
Todd Sherrer, MD
Dave Smith
Shane Spees
Ginger Hardy Carol Upton
Jake Heyer Derek Warren, D.M.D.
Benton Hilbun, M.D.

Wesley Webb

Health Care Foundation of North Mississippi

Health Care Foundation of
North Mississippi

(HCF) is the charitable entity for the North Mississippi Health Services. HCF secures and distributes donations and provides philanthropic innovation for a variety of patient- and family-centered care programs, community health improvement and patient assistance causes.

HCF Board

Mary Childs, Chairperson Brad Crosswhite, MD.
Sam Pace,  Vice Chair Tom Foy
Dan Rollins, Secretary Chauncey Godwin
Sharon Nobles, Treasurer Mickey Holliman
Steven Blaylock, President Trentice Imbler
Amanda Angle David Rumbarger
Mont Berry, M.D. Shane Spees
Elizabeth Carnell Bruce Toppin
West Cordell, MD Mitch Waycaster

HealthWorks! Board

Steven Blaylock
Ormella Cummings, Ph.D.
Nikki Ivancic Currey, M.D.
Mitch Waycaster
Louis Marascalco